About Us

The Board was established under the 1862 and 1868 Salmon Fisheries Legislation, amended in the Salmon Act 1986 and the Salmon Conservation (Scotland) Act 2001.  This legislation has been recently amalgamated under the Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries (Consolidation) (Scotland) Act 2003.

Membership of the River Findhorn District Salmon Fishery Board comprises all proprietors on the Findhorn. A Board elected by the membership meets three times per year to monitor conditions on the river, to create, review and implement strategies and policies to ensure effective management, and to take any necessary decisions regarding the Board’s statutory duties. The Board’s legal and administrative tasks are undertaken by the Clerk. The Board employs two bailiffs to police the river and to protect and enhance stocks of salmonids (salmon and sea trout).  Various scientific activities necessary for protecting and enhancing stocks, such as electro fishing surveys, are contracted out to the Findhorn, Nairn and Lossie Fisheries Trust.

The following are the current Board Members:

Alasdair Laing, Chairman, Logie Estate Office, Dunphail, Forres IV36 2QN, 01667 458900

Lady Balgonie

The Earl Cawdor

Anthony Laing

Tony Watts/Graham Bell (Forres Angling Association)

Andrew Howard

Rob Hoskin

Mark Laing (co-opted member)

Clerk: Will Cowie

Head Bailiff: Sean McLean, 07920 483081

Please contact the Administrator, Valerie Wardlaw for further information:
Fisheries Office, Logie Steading, Dunphail, Forres IV36 2QN             01309 611220           admin@fnlft.org.uk

Findhorn Fishery Board complaints procedure.