About Us

The Nairn DSFB is a statutory body, consisting of all proprietors on the Nairn. Proprietors elect a Board of Directors and employ a Clerk and a Bailiff. The Board meets three times a year to discuss salmonid management and to direct the activities of the Clerk and Bailiff. According to the Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries (Consolidation) (Scotland) Act 2003, the Board is responsible for the protection and management of salmonids (salmon and sea trout) and fisheries in the Nairn and its tributaries. As the Nairn is in the fortunate position of being a healthy river with reasonable fish stocks, the Board focusses on protecting and enhancing the fish stocks, with restoration being carried out where necessary. The Board funds itself through an annual levy on proprietors.

Chair: The Earl Cawdor
Phone: 01667 404827

Clerk: Will Cowie, R&R Urquhart, Forres

Administrator: Valerie Wardlaw
01309 611220

Bailiff: Alastair Skinner
07825 554808

The first Board was constituted in 1863. The current Board consists of the following members:

Rossie MacRae
Dereck MacKenzie
C.J. Mackintosh Walker
Alan Leslie-Melville
Liz MacDonald
Michael Green
Gordon Rennie (Co-opted Nairn AA)
David Carson (Co-opted Nairn AA)
Mark Laing (Co-opted FNLFT)

The Nairn DSFB  Complaints Procedure